This comprises the old harbour of Lower Town with its cluster of quayside cottages where the River Gwaun meets the sea, the main town of Fishguard with narrow winding streets perched on the cliff top, the village of Goodwick and the port of Fishguard Harbour with a herring fishery and the Stena Line ferry service to Rosslare in Ireland; the total population is around 5,000.
The town was originally surrounded by secure castle walls; Lower Fishguard developed as a herring fishery and port, trading with Ireland, Bristol and Liverpool. In 1779, the port was raided by the privateer Black Prince, which bombarded the town when a ransom was refused. As a result, Fishguard Fort was completed in 1781 and the cannons can be seen overlooking Lower Fishguard.
The Royal Oak pub in the town was the site of the signing of the surrender following the Battle of Fishguard in 1797, the last invasion of Britain, when a force of 1,400 French soldiers landed just to the west but surrendered two days later. Women dressed in Welsh costume apparently startled the invaders and a cobbler called Jemima Nicholas single handedly captured 12 French soldiers.
The Old Town Hall is home to the 100ft long Last Invasion tapestry, telling a humorous and entertaining story in a Bayeux tapestry style detailing this invasion. Fishguard has a range of interesting pubs, shops, cafes and restaurants, a Farmers Market, several quality arts and crafts shops and Theatr Gwaun, which shows a changing programme of the latest films.
Penlan-Uchaf Farm Garden is a beautifully landscaped three acre garden around a working farm in the heart of the Gwaun Valley south-east of Fishguard, with stunning views of the Preseli Hills. In addition to alpine beds, herb gardens, a fast flowing stream and ponds, it has a sensory garden for the blind and less able and plenty of seating.