Newcastle Emlyn Cottages
With a population of 1,000 the town, most of which is in Carmarthenshire, lies on the banks of the River Teifi. The remains of a Norman castle are one of the most notable features of the town which takes its name from the Cantref of Emlyn which was an administrative district in medieval times; it was captured by Owain Glyndwr in 1403.
The narrow gauge steam Teifi Valley Railway has been laid on the trackbed of part of the former Great Western Railway Newcastle Emlyn branch from Pencader Junction off the Carmarthen to Aberystwyth line which closed to passengers in 1952 and to freight traffic in 1973. Starting at Henllan to the east of the town, the Teifi Valley Railway uses restored locos dating back to the First World War and earlier.
Wool was historically the most important and widespread of Wales's industries and the Museum of the Welsh Woollen Industry is situated south-east of Newcastle Emlyn at Drefach Felindre. Located in the historic former Cambrian Mills, the Museum follows the process from fleece to fabric and a raised walkway gives a unique view of textiles in production at Melin Teifi, the site's commercial woollen mill.